Grains are used in the processing of many ingredients. Care should be taken to seek out hidden sources of gluten. The following terms found on food labels may indicate that the products contain gluten:

  • Starch
  • Stabilizer
  • Flavoring
  • Plant Protein
  • Hydrolyzed
  • Emulsifier
  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP), unless made from soy or corn
  • Flour or Cereal products, unless makde with pure rice flour, corn flour, potato flour, or soy flour
  • Vegetable Protein, unless made from soy or corn
  • Malt or Malt Flavoring, unless derived from corn
  • Modified Starch or Modified Food Starch, unless arrowroot, corn, potato, tapioca, waxy maize, or maize is used
  • Vegetable Gum, unless made from carob bean, locust bean, cellulose, guar, gum arabic, gum aracia, gum tragacanth, xantham, or vegetable starch
  • Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids, unless you know they do not contain wheat
  • Certain imported foods labeled "gluten-free" may still contain wheat starch

Popular Articles